The Visual Novel I Was Supposed To Make 6 Years Ago

About 6 years ago I became amored with visual novels as a medium and decided to make one. I asked my friend to write a script for me, and I would illustrate and program the game.
However self-precieved lack of skill and teenage anxiety soon made me give up the project altogether. I was depressed and sad that I probably disappointed my friend who worked hard on the script I never used.

Fast forward to one month ago. I had this episode of extreme annoyance, because I would constantly come up with great game ideas in my head but would never stick with anything for very long, thus never finishing anything. I concluded that the best way to get rid of this feeling was to finish some unfinished business in my past.
I chose to rework the visual novel project I started years and years ago.

Back then I was 15. I was full of anxiety over my lack of skill, my lack of motivation, my lack of time and lack of everything as a person. I stopped drawing, because everytime I took an empty paper I would suffer a mini panic attack. “I need to make this good, I need to become better, or else what’s the point of even living?” I had tied my selfworth to my drawing skill because that was the only thing (I thought back then) I was ever good at. Of course everything I drew became soulless and empty. because I got no joy out of making it. Needless to say I dropped it all: The project, my hobby. And I’m SO glad I did.

Now I’m 21 and my skill hs grown and my vision is clearer. I have healed. I no longer get anxiety from drawing. In fact I have pretty much no feelings about drawing. I have a new dream now, I study to become a game programmer. I’m much happier as a person and now is the time to finish what I started.

I still have the files from 6 years ago. The script is ready and all inside code. The story is currently in Finnish but I’ll ask the same friend to translate it, or translate it myself. Either way in the end the VN will be in english.

The script is currently 1502 lines long.
I will be drawing every image I need in the order they come up in the story. This means whenever finish working on line 1, I will never have to touch that line again. I have now finished working on line 119, so I wonät have to touch those lines again.
In every post I make, I will document the length of he script and my progress like this:

Total Lines: 1502
Ready Lines: 119
Progress: 7.9%

I hope to update this blog at least once a week. The next post will be about the artstyle I chose for this project

Have a good day! _^
-Hanna

 
5
Kudos
 
5
Kudos

Now read this

Long time no see!

Well, this was on hold for quite some time. Studying is hard work, but I’m doing fine now. And guess what? The Great Voyage is ready! Well, almost. All the art assets are done, programming is done and so on. In the end I showed the game... Continue →